Breeders’ Cup

The Breeders’ Cup World Championships is an annual set of Grade I Thoroughbred horse races, managed by Breeders’ Cup Limited, a company formed in 1982. From its beginning in 1984 through 2006, it was a single-day event; beginning in 2007, it expanded into two days. All websites are in the USA, but in 1996, Once the races were at the Woodbine Racetrack in Canada. The presence at the Breeders’ Cup changes, depending mainly on the ability of the host monitor. Santa Anita Park set the highest two-day attendance figure of 118,484 in 2016. [1] The smallest two-day presence was 69,584 at 2007 in Monmouth Park. [2] The attendance typically only trails the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes and the Kentucky Oaks (and in some decades, the Belmont Stakes); for more info see American Thoroughbred Racing top Attended Events. With the accession of 3 races for 2008, a total of $25.5 million was awarded over the 2 days, up from $23 million in 2007. With the following removal of two races, the purses for the remaining Seven races totaled $24.5 million in 2014, plus awards for foal and stallion nominators. [3] Prior to this 2016 running, the overall bags were raised from $26 million to $28 million. The purse of the Classic was raised from $5 million to $6 million, and the purse of this Longines Turf was increased from $3 million to $4 million. [4] In 2018, complete prizes and awards were raised to over $30 million following another race, the Juvenile Turf Sprint, was added along with the bag for the Sprint was increased to $2 million. [5] Each Breeders’ Cup race presents four Breeders’ Cup trophies to the relations of the winner along with a garland of flowers draped over the withers of the horse that is winning. Many Breeders’ Cup winners will go on to win the Eclipse Award in their respective division. By way of instance, of those eleven flat racehorse categories, seven of those Eclipse winners in 2015 had won a Breeders’ Cup race, while three others were at the cash. [6] From the 2015 listing of the International Federation of Horseracing Authorities (IFHA), three Breeders’ Cup races are rated among the top Grade 1 races in the world: the Vintage (4th), the Turf (10th) and the Mile (12th). The Distaff is ranked second among the best Grade 1 races for fillies and mares. [7]During 2006, there were eight races on the Breeders’ Cup card, all categorized as Grade I races. In 2007, three races — the Dirt Mile, Filly and Mare Sprint, and Juvenile Turf — were added, all of them operate the Friday before the remaining eight races. Three more new races — a Turf Sprint, Juvenile Filly Turf and Marathon — were inserted for 2008. [33] A Juvenile Sprint was inserted for 2011. The championship races in 2009 (pictured) were the next year to have a day devoted to female horses. Since 2013, the sex on both days is blended between races. The order of these races on the card has changed many times throughout the event’s history, but the Turf and Classic are traditionally the previous two races. The 2008 event was the first where Day 1 of the event was committed to races for fillies and mares, together with Day 2 featuring the rest of the races. For 2009, the Marathon, open to runners of both sexes, was moved from Day 2 to be the opening race on Day 1, but all other races remained on the afternoon they were run in 2008. In 2011, the Marathon was moved from Day 1 to Day 2, with the Juvenile Sprint getting the very first race overall (and the only one on Day 1 available to men ). The Marathon returned to Day 1 in 2012. Since 2013, the first day was no longer primarily devoted to races for fillies and mares, with the Dirt Mile and Juvenile Turf proceeding to Day 1 and the Filly & Mare Sprint and Filly & Mare Turf moving to Day 2. Two other significant changes were produced in 2013. First, the Juvenile Sprint (on dirt) was discontinued after just two runnings. That race had been widely perceived as a consolation prize for horses not good enough to run from the Juvenile. [8] Second, the Ladies’ Vintage returned to its original title of Distaff. When the latter announcement was made, Breeders’ Cup president Craig Fravel stated, We restored the Ladies’ Classic to the original name because of feedback from our loyal fans that have a strong affinity for the Distaff. In recognition of our 30th year, the Distaff has provided us with a number of racing’s most remarkable minutes, typified by such outstanding thoroughbreds as Lady’s Secret, Personal Ensign, Azeri, Zenyatta, and our two-time defending winner, Royal Delta. It’s a fitting tribute to bring back the name Distaff to honor the rich history of the championships. [8] For 2018, the sprint race for two-year Id was revived, now on turf since the Juvenile Turf Sprint. According to officials, the turf races to get age-old older horses have more entries than can fit within the Breeders’ Cup limit of 12 to 14 horses, so that they needed to include the third turf race for age-old older horses at 5.5 or six furlongs, depending on the trac Read more:
  • このエントリーをはてなブックマークに追加